Reviews of our family friendly gites in 2013
La Grange du Moulin
near Saint Jean d'Angely
Jones family review of La Grange du Moulin - Papillon gite May 2013, children aged 13 and 2 yrs, UK
''We visited La Grange du Moulin to celebrate hubbys 40th birthday and our 10yr anniversary. As a party of 5 - me, my husband, teenage son (13yrs), 2 yr old
daughter and 86 yr old grandmother we were a bit of a mixed bag with high hopes ! We wern't disappointed. This has to be the first holiday on which we have felt
relaxed straight away. We loved the whole casual approach where we could take each day at our own pace without being guided by set mealtimes and activities,
as with previous holidays. The gite had everything we needed (and more) and was comfortable and spacious. We loved the rustic look of the whole complex which
only added to its charm. Chris and Wendy did everything they could to lift our slightly dampened spirits due to the freak bad weather and we loved taking part in
the vine walk, pottery painting and communal bbq and the kids thoroughly enjoyed painting their t-shirts ! We only really ventured out once - to La Rochelle -
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1996,'97, '98
Kenny family review of La Grange du Moulin - Grenier family friendly gite May 2013 child aged 2yrs, UK
''Despite the slightly rubbish weather we have had a fantastic first family holiday abroad. Our 2yr old daughter has loved playing out in the garden & sandpit &
collecting snails. The activities (t-shirt painting, pottery and teddy bears picnic) were great. We loved the bbq and the chance to chat with other guests. We can't
wait to return and hopefully next time we'll be able to try the pool !!''
Martyn family review of La Grange du Moulin- Horloge family friendly gite May 2013 child aged 2.5yrs, UK
We've had another wonderful holiday at La Grange du Moulin (Horloge gite) We've never before been back to the same place on holiday but we couldn't find
anything else that we thought would cater so well to our needs. Wendy and Chris know the recipe for making a relaxing holiday for parents with young children with
a great mix of adult based and child based activities. I think our 2.5 yr old son will be asking for Teddy bears picnics for weeks ! It really shows that Wendy and
Chris genuinely care about people enjoying their stay. I'm sure we'll be back again !
Raja family review of La Grange du Moulin - Ruche gite May 2013 child aged 15mths, UK
We had a lovely relaxing stay here with our 15mth old boy. Even before we arrived Wendy was always very helpful with answering our many questions via email.
The gite was equipped with everything we could have asked for and more, including bath toys for our little one. The garden kept our son busy for hours and
although it was a bit too cold to use the pools they looked tempting and we'll definitely be trying them out when we come back (if we're luckier with the weather !)
We really enjoyed the group bbq and the Teddy bears picnic was a lovely touch - our son especially liked his piece of cake ! Despite the weather we had a really
good time and would love to come back.
McCreery family review of La Grange du Moulin - Fleurie gite June 2013, children aged 5 and 4yrs, UK
This is a perfect place for families with young children - safe and secure with lots to do for the kids. A very relaxing holiday and the area is beautiful. Chris and
Wendy were more than helpful with any questions or requests and it is great to have English speakers who know the area so well. If you like to run there are lots
of good quiet roads and tracks to run around (Wendy very helpfully provided a map with routes marked out 3k,6k,10k etc) All in all a great place for a holiday with
kids !
Gray family review of La Grange du Moulin - - Ruche gite June 2013, children aged 4 and 2 yrs, UK
A great place for a first foreign holiday with kids. Chris and Wendy go to a lot of effort to make everyone feel welcome. The sea food bbq was a highlight and a
great way to meet everyone. The kids activities (t-shirt painting and teddy bears picnic) were great too. Our kids loved the garden especially the trampoline. Kids
loved the swimming pools, lots of lovely thoughtful touches like a sunshade over sand pit and toddler pool. Site small enough to get to know everyone but big
enough for the kids to make friends and have fun.
Blundell family review of La Grange du Moulin - Papillon gite July 2013, UK
children aged 4 and 2 yrs
We have had a wonderful 2 wks at La Grange du Moulin, so much so we have booked for next year ! Wendy and Chris are welcoming, professional and efficient
but above all, friendly . Our two girls have had the freedom to play and explore in complete safety and have thrived making new friends and enjoying some
independence. We have had time to relax and make the most of the family time as well as 'grown up time' We as parents have made some lovely friends and can't
wait to come back next year. This is definitely the place for people who enjoy the company of other families and the opportunity to be part of a group. Thank you
Wendy and Chris, sorry to say we'll be keeping La Grange du Moulin a secret as we will want to make sure availability is plentiful for us in the future !
Silvester family review of La Grange du Moulin
Fleurie family friendly gite July 2013 children aged 6 and 2 years
We couldn't have asked for better weather while at La Grange du Moulin. The pool
was a great relief from the 37c heat ! We were impressed by the safety measures
around the pool (child safety gate and audible alarm in the water) giving us peace of
mind. The boys were immediately relaxed in the garden, playing with other guests
children on the trampoline and pirate ship. The t-shirt painting was a lovely extra, but
it was the scuba diving that our eldest really loved ! Our gite had everything we
condiments etc we needed. The use of the laundry room also made life easier.
Beautiful gardens and views all around; sunflowers, vines, wheat fields, melon crops...
and the added benefit of daily tractor and combined harvester thrilled our youngest
boy ! We found the family vine walk really interesting with Chris giving us a great
commentary on the history of the area as well as the vines. Wendy was a great help
regarding local excursions and having our hosts on site meant queries were quickly
addressed. Our childrens main holiday priority was someone to play with and a pool -
both were here at la Grange du Moulin ! As a consequence us grown ups also had a
great holiday !
Gordon family review of La Grange du Moulin - Papillon gite July 2013, children aged 3, 5 and 8 yrs, UK
We had a great stay in Papillon. Our children all enjoyed their week. This was a perfect location for children with lots to keep them busy. The garden is excellent
and so safe, the pirate ship was a big hit too ! Both pools are great and we enjoyed all the activities, especially the t-shirt painting, pottery painting and teddy
recommend this holiday, when the kids are happy the parents are happy ! Looking forward to returning.
Alves family review of La Grange du Moulin - Horloge gite July 2013, children aged 3yrs and 19mths, UK
This was our first visit and proper holiday abroad with our two very lively boys. Wendy and Chris made us feel fabulously welcome and relaxed, a beautiful safe
and secure site just the right balance of activities (bbq, pottery, wine tasting) and Wendy and chris even helped organise my husbands 40th. The boys loved the
pool, play park and sandpit. Around the many activities the region has to offer we definitely recommend the zoo, the boat park, la rochelle aquarium, then a nice
glass in the evening with the other couples. Fabulous time, we will be back again.   
Cameron family review of La Grange du Moulin - Horloge gite August 2013, children 8 and 6yrs, UK
Another fabulous, relaxing stay at La Grange du Moulin. The moment we came through the gates our children feel at home. The Blakemans are great hosts and
we are able to kick back, relax and make the most of our stay every year; perfect ! thank you
.
Swanton family review of La Grange du Moulin - Papillon gite august 2013, children 3 and 6yrs, UK
We had another great 2wk stay in Papillon this time. The gite was great and became a mecca for the kids to meet up in or pass through
! Our two boys made lots of new friends and met up with friends from previous visits. We liked the central location of the gite
overlooking the bbqs and the gardens. Wendy and Chris have been wonderfully accommodating. The seafood bbq was legendary and
diving experience (6yr old) and the t-shirt and pencil case painting (3yr old). We have really relaxed this year spending more time at the
gites letting the kids play and swim for hours. If our kids are happy with their friends then we are happy ! Thank you Wendy and Chris
for helping to make another great holiday. See you again next year (our 6th year !)
Wilson family review of La Grange du Moulin - Ruche gite, August 2013, children aged 9, 7 and 4yrs, UK
We have had another fantastic holiday at La Grange du Moulin. The children have had a great time running around the garden with all the friends they have made.
The taste du terroir and family barbecue night were a highlight as always and a few trips out as well. We are looking forward to coming back next summer already !
Takens family review of La Grange du Moulin, Horloge gite, August 2013, children aged 4 and 6 yrs, Netherlands
Wade family review of La Grange du Moulin, Papillon gite, August 2013, children aged 5 and 1 yrs, UK
Why do we keep coming back ? Wendy and Chris - excellent hosts, on hand if needed, knowledgeable and clearly very good at providing fun family holidays; Great
communal atmosphere - bbq night enables you to continue the adult conversations started in the garden; secure enclosed garden; Great selection of well used
play equipment and toys, keeps kids of all ages happy; Relaxed atmosphere - as the gites are finished in a rustic style it does not matter too much if after playing in
the sandpit the kids run in and bring the sand too !; Location - easily accesible from the ferry ports, lots of activities within 1 hr, bike rides, pool and lovely walks
right here !   
Hose family review of La Grange du Moulin, Grenier and Ruche gites, July 2013, children aged 5 and 2yrs, UK
all our requests, always a smile. We enjoyed all the childrens activities, t-shirt painting, pottery painting and teddy bears picnic. Thank you.
Smith family review of La Grange du Moulin, Fleurie gite, August 2013, children aged 5 and 3 yrs, UK.
What a fantastic week ! We havn't been this relaxed since having the boys and they have had a magical time making new friends and generally rampaging around
the place. Given that 2 yrs ago, our eldest was too scared to go into the pool on holiday, the fact that he tried (and loved) scuba diving in the pool here is just
brilliant. Wendy, Chris, Thomas and Benjamin - you have been wonderful hosts and have made us feel so welcome - whether that's through your fantastic
hospitality and local knowledge or your boys helping our two make lego spaceships and star wars x fighter templates for the t-shirt painting ! Already looking
Hu family review of La Grange du Moulin, Horloge gite, August 2013, children aged 8, 5 and 2 yrs, UK
Really enjoyed staying here. It is great that the children can all go out and play in the garden, trampoline, sandpit, pirate ship with all the other kids staying here
and we don't need to worry where they are. We definitely plan to come back again. Wendy and Chris look after you really well and the activities are great.
Shearer family review of La Grange du Moulin, Ruche gite, July 2013, children aged 6 and 3 yrs, UK
Ager and Pye families review of La Grange du Moulin - Peche gite, august 2013, children aged 4, 4, 7 and 7 yrs, UK
The fact that it's our fourth consecutive year staying at La grange du Moulin says it all. A lovely relaxing stay in a nice part of France,
our four boys enjoy playing with the other children on site and spending time in the pool, leaving the adults to enjoy the other delights
of the region !
We knew we had made the right decision in returning to this oasis of calm as soon as we arrived. We received a warm welcome from our
excellent hosts, Chris and Wendy, I say hosts but they make you feel like you are returning friends. The gites, although described as
basic are well equipped, oh and when our dishwasher broke down in the morning, on our return from a fantastic day out, Chris had
already installed a brand new one - which is above and beyond normal service. Our daughter has had a brilliant time making and playing
with friends and we always feel our daughter is very safe here with other families looking out for each others children, though the
By Wendy Blakeman