Reviews of our family friendly gites in 2014
La Grange du Moulin near Saint Jean d'Angely
Allen and Bissett families review of La Grange du Moulin, June 2014
Papillon and Ruche holiday cottages, children aged  2yrs & baby of 5mths.
La Grange du Moulin is a wonderful safe and fun place for young families. There is nowhere that they can escape with gates gate each end of the property.
The gites are rustic but fully equipped and lovely and cool in the hot sunny days we experienced at the beginning of June 2014. We were in the pool every
day. Beautifully kept by Chris and Wendy and there is a baby and toddler pool too. Combine all that with a laundry and well equipped garden to play in and
you have the perfect setting for a relaxing family holiday. As grandparents we thoroughly enjoyed some real quality time with our grandchildren. Will definitely
come again.
INDEPENDENT REVIEW SITES

Trip advisor

Mumsnet reviews

Netmums reviews

Recommended family holidays

Away with the kids reviews
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1996,'97, '98
Cox family review of La Grange du Moulin, June 2014
Horloge holiday cottage, children aged  4, 2 and 1 yr.
We had a fantastic week in Horloge - we hardly needed to leave the place as the weather was gorgeous and the kids could have happily
spent all day in the pool. The gite was really well equipped - I really liked the little touches such as the bath toys and even cuddly toy on the
beds which our children feel very at home. We loved eating al fresco and watching the kids potter about the play area. Chris and Wendy
are so welcoming, their boys, very friendly and they really have thought of everything. We will definitely be recommending this place to lots
of friends ! Thank you so much !
Benfield family review of La Grange du Moulin, May 2014
We have really enjoyed our stay here. We have had a wonderful relaxing holiday. It has been great watching the children have so much fun running free
around your beautiful garden and be completely safe without us worrying. We cannot do this at home ! Or on any other holiday we have been on. Our son
loved being able to see tractors going past his bedroom window every morning. Our eldest daughter loved the fairy tree and playing with here sister all day
and going in the swimming pool. We had a great time driving around looking at the beautiful scenery and vineyards. The zoo was a great day out. We would
love to come again next year.
Day family review of La Grange du Moulin, May 2014
Horloge holiday cottage, children aged 7 and 5yrs
Have had a great week despite the unseasonably bad weather as there is loads to do in the area. Our kids are 7 and 5yrs so from the twirly whirly slide in St
Jean to the zoo at La Palmyre we have kept them occupied. Also in beautiful countryside with quiet woods, bike riding and charming French villages / towns.
Chris and Wendy practically treat you like a member of the family and very helpful. The proximity of the other gites and layout of the garden mean that all the
kids end up playing together which makes for its own entertainment !
Ager family review of La Grange du Moulin, May 2014
Our fifth year at La Grange du Moulin ! Our two boys still love it, as do we and the boys are already requesting that we come back next year ! Plenty to do on
site or out and about to keep them occupied.
Pye family review of La Grange du Moulin, May 2014
Papillon holiday cottage, children aged 8 and 5 yrs
Another great stay here with Chris and Wendy and their wonderful hospitality, good company and excellent site. The kids love it here year after year as the
set up is perfect for their ages with a safe, fun garden, a wide selection of toys and activities that they enjoy including fabric painting and even scuba diving.
A combination of time by the coast, visits to beautiful nearby towns and simply chilling by the gites made this the perfect week away yet again. Thank you !
By Wendy Blakeman
We loved it ! The holiday lived up to every expectation we had - fantastic pools for our daughter to gain confidence in, lovely play area to exlore and amazing
space and support to make wonderful friends in. A truly lovely family holiday we never thought possible with a 3 year old ! The gites are perfect, the views
astounding and Chris and Wendy truly make the holiday. We're signed up for next year ....
Holt family review of La Grange du Moulin, June 2014
Grenier holiday cottage, children aged 8 & 5yrs.
Brilliant environment for our 2 boys (8&5yrs) lots of fun was had playing football with the other kids. Pool area was great and felt relaxing. Youngest learnt to
swim and scuba dive in the same afternoon ! Relaxed environment. Other guests were lovely and very sociable evenings put on by Wendy and Chris.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Accommodation met our needs perfectly. Thank you.
Horloge holiday cottage, children aged 8 (twins), 5 and 1 yr
What made the holiday so particularly special for all 6 of us was the relaxed and sociable atmosphere. The children played together with their new friends so
happily and there was always adult conversation and a bit of a laugh to be had. There was just the right mix between private holiday time and chit chat or fun
with others. It was completely unlike any other family holiday we have been on as we felt very much among friends even though all families had met for the first
time . Its a very safe place for even tiny kids. It's a stimulating base with lots of nooks and crannies in the garden, plenty of toys, sand pits, football games,
seafood bbqs...... or just the extraordinary expanse of horizon at the back of the gite where it is so peaceful and beautiful when the little ones have gone to
bed. There were fields of barley for as far as the eye could see and some special sunsets from the terrace. After all that the local towns are driping with
character and charming people. So much to do and see in the area !! A massive thank you to Chris, Wendy, Benjamin and Thomas for their continued
courtesy, professionalism and friendliness during our stay. They have got something special going on at 'La Grange du moulin' Thanks again for such a
wonderful break, it was just what was needed !
Wall family review of La Grange du Moulin, June 2014
Papillons holiday cottage, children aged 6 and 2 yrs
We have just spent a fabulous week in the Papillon gite, our first holiday with
children. It is a wonderful setting in the rolling countryside with nothing but open
fields as far as you can see. Wendy and Chris have tried to think of everything
and anything they can do to make your holiday with young children as stress free
as possible- and they have certainly achieved this. There are some lovely touches
which make this place 'stand out from the norm', from boxes of toys in each gite, to
a dvd library and the evening taste du terroir and seafood bbqs were fantastic and
a must do. It is in a great location with plenty to see and do, the zoo, aquarium and
great beaches all found within an hour or so. I cannot rate this holiday highly
enough, but as a family we only have one regret - that we didn't book two weeks !!
Russell family review of La Grange du Moulin, July 2014, Horloge holiday cottage, child aged 3 yrs
From the minute we landed we felt as if we'd never been away ! With our 3 yr old fast asleep in the car it was lovely to arrive to the cottage with his room ready,
complete with night light and cuddly toy. We were greeted by friends made last year with a glass of local wine . Chris and Wendy were as accomodating as ever,
from the drinks provided to sample at the Monday bbq and Wendys pear tart to the lovely teddy bears picnic on Wednesday. We have had a wonderful week
and will continue to sing the praises of La Grange du Moulin to our friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay !
Shearer family review of La Grange du Moulin, August 2014, Grenier holiday cottage, children aged 7 and 4 yrs
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such special holiday memories over the last 6 yrs. Amazing good fortune that I found somewhere so perfect when
reading holiday reviews on Mumsnet all that time ago. We will always remember La Grange du Moulin as being a very happy and treasured time for our little
family and maybe we won't be able stay away and will return again someday.
Jarvis family review of La Grange du Moulin, September 2014, Papillon holiday cottage, children aged 2 and 3 yrs
Great holiday; very friendly and helpful; lovely location; accommodation 100%; very central for things to do; Loved st savinien afternoon boating, chris' wine tour
(excellent), La Rochelle, aquarium, Chatellailon plage, park in St Jean d'Angely, Eric's Pineau, Boulangerie in St Julien de l'escap, Wendys teddy bear picnic.
Great all round holiday will comeback again, rating a big 5/5
Kerrigan family review of La Grange du Moulin, September 2014, Fleurie holiday cottage, baby 10mths
the toddler swimming pool, it was really good having the shadey roof over it. There was plenty to do in the surrounding area, she really enjoyed the zoo at La
Palmyre. We enjoyed being able to relax in the evenings in a lovely setting and chatting with other parents. Wendy and Chris were great at getting everyone
together and did a good job breaking the ice over some delicious local Pineau !
Pannett family review of La Grange du Moulin, August 2014, Grenier holiday gite, children aged 6, 4 and 1 yrs
Describing La Grange du Moulin as the type of place that feels like a 'home from home' is a testament to the child friendly holiday that Wendy and Chris have
sought hard to create. Every parents worry within their control has been considered and countered with pool alarms, child locks, gates etc allowing you to worry
only about which wonderful wine to drink, which meat or fish to bbq and which book to read next ! Sociable, enjoyable, relaxing and safe, all the words a family of
5 need to explain a perfect holiday !
Sharpe family review of La Grange du Moulin, July 2014, Peche holiday house, children aged 6, 3 (twins) and 1yrs
We have 4 young children and this was our first overseas holiday with them. By providing a safe, fun environment with plenty of other children to befriend, La
Grange du Moulin gave us all a wonderful holiday. The kids loved the pools and with so many playmates for them my wife and I had a surprisingly large amount of
time to relax and unwind. Wendy and Chris are great hosts and really looked after us. Chris gave exert and generous guidance to the local wines and spirits. We
all had a very special 2 weeks. We very much look forward to returning next year !!
Payne family review of La Grange du Moulin, August 2014, Fleurie holiday gite, children aged 6 and 3 yrs
Well thought out, family friendly accommodation in a beautiful country setting. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to families with young
children and look forward to returning. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our 2 wks here in particular the relaxed friendly atmosphere and activities such as the
communal bbq and pottery and fabric painting.
Hilson family review of La Grange du Moulin, August 2014, Fleurie holiday gite, children aged 6 and 4 yrs
Back for the 5th year in a row and once again we have enjoyed it immensely. Our two children enjoyed playing and swimming in the big pool this year more than
ever. As ever it is a perfect and safe environment for the children to play and make (or reaquaint with) friends. So relaxing for us parents which makes it great for
all of us. Away from La Grange du Moulin there are plenty of things to do and a visit to sail on the electric boats at St Savinien is a favorite for us all preceeded by
a picnic and play in the park. Wendy and Chris are open, generous and helpful hosts managing to be available when needed but never intrusive. We all want to
come back next year if we can find an available slot in the calendar at La Grange du Moulin !